top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Smith

The Story Behind Coached by Kayla

I had the pleasure of sitting down to speak with GenerationGIRL, a nonprofit organization created to support and empower the next generation of girls of color pursuing career fields of business and entrepreneurship, law, and health. As a part of their #FemaleFounderFriday, I shared the backstory to Coached by Kayla and why I love serving you so much!


What inspired you to start your own business?

Coached by Kayla was built on the foundation of love, the desire to serve others, and the growing need to better prepare for career readiness and professional success.

73% of employers indicate that it is somewhat or very difficult to find qualified graduate applicants. (SHRM)

I step alongside of job seekers and industry professionals to prepare them for the job search and teach what employers are looking for.


Tell us about your business (products or services) and current projects/initiatives (if applicable):

Coached by Kayla is a one-stop shop for all of your professional development and career coaching needs. I help job seekers explore career possibilities, network intentionally, apply with confidence, prepare for interviews, and negotiate higher salaries. Coached by Kayla was founded to help busy men and women advance in the workplace. Throughout the last decade, I have helped thousands of new and seasoned professionals gain confidence in the workplace, turn their passion into an income, and make more money on the job.


How has being a woman [of color] impacted or influenced your entrepreneurial journey?

Being a woman of color has inspired my entrepreneurial journey. Seeing other (female) black owned businesses thrive has encouraged me to walk in my purpose and fulfill my calling. Since Coached by Kayla is mostly virtual, I have the added bonus of supporting other women of color regardless of where they live or what occupation they are in.


What has been your biggest business highlight or accomplishment?

I am proud to highlight all of the professionals who I have helped transition to positions at companies they once only dreamed of! Helping others fuels my passion and it makes me happy to know that I can add value to your professional endeavors.


What is one key piece of *business* advice you'd give girls and/or women that want to start and operate a business?

Just Do It! @Nike said it best and with preparation, you can do it too. Do your market research, seek advice from trusted professionals and your support system, and then set a date and LAUNCH. Let your passion and preparation propel your ideas and your business!


What is one key piece of *personal* advice you'd give girls and/or women that want to start and operate a business?

Balance is the key! I absolutely LOVE serving clients and truly enjoy being a Career Coach. Since balance is important and Coached by Kayla is here to stay, I honor my time and value each interaction by scheduling my days very intentionally.


Read the full interview HERE.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page